Watercolor Society of Alabama

Promoting and Supporting Watermedia Since 1939

73rd National Exhibition 2014

 is from March 9th through April 19th, 2014 at the:   CARNEGIE VISUAL ARTS CENTER–207 Church St. N. E., Decatur, Alabama 35601

There were 127 artists (from 27 states) that entered 237 paintings.  The Juror selected  75 paintings from 75 artists (from 21 states) for the Exposition.  – Alabama: 28 paintings (37%) – Florida: 8 paintings (11%) – South Carolina: 6 paintings (8%) – Virginia: 5 paintings (7%) and – Other States: 28 paintings (37%)

The 73rd Exhibition Selection Juror is Jeff Bass of Pensacola, FL.  Nationally known as a watercolorist, juror, educator, and author, Jeff completes historical subject paintings and fine art portraits for private collections and museums.  His work is represented in the Smithsonian, the Central Intelligence Agency, the International Spy Museum, the National Aviation Museum and the National WWI Museum, to name a few.  He has painted luminaries including President George H. W. Bush, Florida Governor Jeb Bush and Secretary of State George Schultz.  His work has been featured on CNN, Fox News, and France 2 Television; his paintings have also appeared in the Times of London, the Smithsonian Magazine Online and widely disseminated through Reuters and the Associated Press…  Although Bass also works in oil, he holds a signature membership in the National Watercolor Society.    Jeff Bass’ work can be viewed at  www.jeffbass.com.
 Judge’s Statement about the Show:
I was profoundly impressed with the quality of the artwork in the show–and I wanted to convey that to WSA and everyone who entered the show. The high quality of the show made my job exceptionally challenging, but it also indicated that the WSA is upholding a very high standard for the discipline of watercolor. All the best to everyone associated with this exceptionally fine show.     Jeff Bass 
                                                         The 73rd WSA NATIONAL EXPOSITION  
There are several ways to view the Exposition on-line:
  •  Click on the artist’s name in the table.  These are in alpha order;
  •  Scroll down to the image section and click on any image.  This will open a carousel to view all images.  The first 20 are the award winners;
  • The  home page has only the award winners .
[Award Winners are shown in bold]
Rick D. Adkins John W. Anderson Wilmer Anderson Judy Aronson Denise Athanas
Marian H. Axley Bill Bailey Gloria Baker Ally Benbrook Al Beyer
Joan Blackburn Marilynne Bradley Gwendolyn C. Bragg Hannah Brown Nancy Brown
Peggy Milburn Brown Jane Carter Toska Courbron Heike Covell J. David Davidson
Joan DiLaura Sarah Buell Dowling Kathleen Durdin Martina Dyer Derald Eastman
Patricia Eldridge Z. L. Feng Judith Fields Lyn Gill Corky Goldman
Deborah Hall Gayle Hall Lynne N. Hardwick John Hassler Anne Hightower-Patterson
Xiao Xing Hu Marion W. Hylton Ardythe Jolliff Johanna Littleton Becky Kennedy
Ray Kersh Chris Krupinski Pat Langewis Vicki Monette William H. McKeown
L. J. Michael Yoshiko Mishina Dean Mitchell William C. Morris Arlaine Morrison
Yuri Ozaki Nancy Paden Cynthia Parsons Ann Pember Mary Ann Pope
Barbara Rettig Lynn Schilling  Jean Seymour Jaceena Shepard Duncan Simmons
Natalie Smythe Linda M. Spearman Sandra Starkey Carol Staub Tuva Stephens
Kay Stern Iain Stewart E. Jane Stoddard Susan Stuller Don Taylor
Theodora T. Tilton  Kathryn Lansing Vaughn Carolyn J. Wilder Suzanne Wolfe Keiko Yasuoka

        The First 20 are the Award Winners listed from left to right from the Top Award.

The Entire Exhibition follow in alphabetical order.